Guru Satyam, Guru Jnanam, Guru Anandam, Guru Shanti

My guru is the truth, my guru is wisdom, my guru’s ecstasy, my guru’s shantih

Sharon Gannon and David Life are the creators of the Jivamukti Yoga Method and I am honored to call them my teachers, my gurus.  Spending a month studying yoga under their guidance will no doubt be the most amazing experience of my life. They are truly beautiful beings inside and out. The first time I saw them was on the cover of Yoga Journal, it was so long ago it’s hard to remember, but I think it was sometime in 2002.  When I saw Sharon sitting on David’s shoulder while both are in a full Lotus Pose with tattoo’s in full display, I was instantly attracted. I knew they were my kind of people and the right teachers for me. They were obviously yoga masters, but not in the usual stuffy, uptight, serious,  boring way. But in a  fun, playful, artistic, creative, and experienced, but also very intense kind of a way. It wasn’t until 2009 that I finally got to meet and study with Sharon Gannon, and it was in 2010 that I took my first class with David Life. Since then I’ve been lucky enough to spend a lot of time with them at workshops, classes, and immersions. They are both so wonderful, my instinct about them was totally right. They really are just as amazing in real life as I had always imagined. To learn more about them and their teaching schedule check the Jivamukti website. I also recommend reading their book, Jivamukti Yoga: Practices for Liberating Body and Soul and practicing along to their yoga DVD. If you still want more, do an internet search. There are so many good interviews, YouTube clips, and podcasts that give you a feel for what they are all about. Click the following links to watch, read, or listen to a few of my favorite interviews. What is Yoga clip w/ Sharon, What is Yoga clip w/ David, Elephant Journal, Hip Tranquil Chick, Global Mala Event, Interviews

Leave a Reply

